Skip to main content

Dammit

Dude Ranch is one of my all time favourite albums. This may be due to the fact that it was a gateway album for me..or possibly it truly is great (I'm not sure if I have the ability to formulate an unbiased opinion). Blink 182 delivered 45 minutes of pop punk that was catchy as hell with lyrics that drilled themselves straight into your cerebral cortex. Whenever I put the album on, from the first note of Pathetic to the last note of I'm Sorry (I can do without the dog drinking urine 'skit' after I'm sorry) I'm transported to a happy place and can't help myself from nodding my head and singing along. Shit's rad. I celebrate(/ed) Blink's entire proper catalogue Cheshire Cat through their 2003 S/T (Buddha and They Came to Conquer.. yes, that live album no [man overboard was decent]). When I heard that they broke up after their 2003 album I thought it was a great choice. The self-titled showed some interesting progression (shit, they did a song with Robert Smith) and being that they were aging and their potty humor schtick had run it's course it gave them a chance to go out (somewhat) on top.

All was good for a handful of years..then (I can only assume) that pesky little fella nostalgia reared his ugly head (or maybe it was $$). " 'You used to make great music' 'You can do it again! Relive your past success!' ". Nostalgia can lead people to make terrible decisions, in Mark, Tom and Travis' case; Neighbourhoods. I tried to keep an open mind, the first single wasn't THAT terrible. My general litmus test for any album is 'can I listen to it in one sitting without wanting to skip songs'. Simply put, Neighbourhoods did not pass. It wasn't offensively bad, it was just meh. Those three lads should have realized that nature had ran it's course and reviving a corpse just leads to zombies. The Blink 182 on Neighbourhoods sounded as if they were ripping off a Blink 182 influenced band (you know, the ones that wear neon clothes and look/act like pedophiles); a shitty knockoff. (That being said, I'm keeping an open mind to the 'new' Blink 182 of Mark, Travis and Matt [maybe he'll be able to provide much needed energy and cut down on robotic wankery that was all to present on Neighbourhoods]). I'm positive I wasn't the only person out there that felt this way (I can't comprehend the seemingly positive reviews that this stinker recieved when it was released); let down due to expectations based on a similar product that was created (and disappeared) many moons ago.


The 2008 re-introduction, and continued production, of Old Dutch's Mexican Chili Chips was and still is bullshit! Of all the discontinued chip flavours Old Dutch could have chosen to bring back, they picked those chili powder tasting middlers. Yeah, everyone remembers crunching on them back in the day..then all of a sudden *gasp* they were gone. Half a dozen years later people were all, "Remember mexican chili chips. I remember eating them when I was younger, that must mean that they were really good". No, no they weren't REALLY good. They're barely an okay flavour that was the benefactor of nostalgia. I get it, bring back the 'retro' flavour and see a boost in sales. Well, it's been 7 years and these turds are still around, time to cut them loose and bring back something that is actually interesting, like anything in the Rave line; Buffalo Wing, Extra Salt and Vinegar. Even better, step your game up and tinker with other companies discontinued flavours..spicy ketchup, jalapeno dill. Caesar (the tasty drink) flavoured chips dammit!! Time to take Mexican Chili out to the desert and return solo Mr. Dutch (if that is your real name!).

Stay hydrated,
Marc 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The End of All Things

 I am not an expert on Nomeansno, but I can tell you this..their music can be quite difficult to get on physical media (LP, CD or otherwise [unless you want to spend somewhat spicy money]) in Canada. Luckily, Alternative Tentacles reissued Wrong. Now, cross border shipping is still muy caliente, but enough distros picked it up in Canada to allow me to put Wrong into my record collection this year. Nomeansno (since 1979) played (ended 2016) chaotic punk rock that I want to say fell into hardcore, but they were far more than a single genre. Wrong is unconventional for a punk band to say the least. The bass is lively as hell, with a tone that's absolutely perfect. The drums know when to get weird and when to kick it into overdrive. I don't know if it's jazz or funk, but there's something in the mix that if Nomeansno wasn't so aggressive it might feel pretentious..instead they're just odd and make me wish I had the opportunity to seem them live. Lyrics are talk sung...

Piss Angel

I'm not super into metal. I enjoy dabbling into the genre every once in a while, however I am far from being an expert.  A good number of years ago I read a review of this band called Pig Destroyer; they had no bassist and played some heavy fucking metal. I checked them out on myspace because the review, and name of the band, intrigued me. The music was good enough, however being that I lean more towards the punk side of the music spectrum I didn't feel the need to add any of their music to my collection. That being said their name has always stuck with me..and whenever I put those words together it brings to mind blackness. I can only assume that their shows have the gnarliest of mosh pits. In my mind it'd be one of those pits that people go into expecting to get hurt. The first few minutes might be awesome but eventually you end up with a bloody nose and dislocated shoulder. It's more of a dick out than a fun time... This past Friday I had a small bag of Blair'...

A Seat At The Table

 Uglies chips are funny. Their marketing is (and this is paraphrasing) that they take the unusable/waste chips and produce their chips out of those leftovers. "Reducing waste and helping fight hunger". To me, their potato selection is pretty on par with other smaller scale/independent brands... so I'm not quite sure who's throwing out the potatoes that they make their chips with, IMO the potatoes/waste they use are the good ones. So yes, Uglies, 170g bag (nice size, not too small, not too large). Thin chip but crunchy. Oh, by the way this is about Uglies Salt and Vinegar flavored (yes, no u, these are imports that in Canada are usually found at Winners [at least when I've seen them]). So yes, decent amount of skin on these little kettle cooked chips... fairly white in colour chips. They have a nice white vinegar tartness. I picked up a somewhat granular salt texture when I was consuming. I feel Uglies are no more janky than your average bag of kettle cooked (good...